Videos & New Albums Galore

Hey y’all. Sorry for the long break between posts. A (much needed) vacation in Wisconsin, a crazy week at work, and the start of football season slowed me down a bit. I wanted to take the time to share some of the videos that have been keeping me sane the last few days, as well as some of the albums that either came out last week or are coming out this week that have me incredibly excited.

So, with no further ado:

The Revivalists have been around for a few years, and their unique blend of old-world folk, Chili Peppers-esque funk-rock, and a whole lot of heart on their sleeves make this video a perfect one for transitioning into fall. (Thanks to Ned for this one!)

Anyone who has talked to me within the last week knows that I’m on a crazy Noah Gundersen bender. Coupled with how much I love Joni Mitchell, this one has been playing over and over and over again.

This is an old favorite. One of my favorite bands covering a song by one of my favorite songwriters. A video to end a long, long night as fall settles in. God this is good.

As far as new albums go…this week is a veritable goldmine. The new Avett Brothers album comes out on Tuesday, and you can stream it over on NPR. Also, the new XX album drops the same day, and that one’s streaming over here.

Also, the debut album from former Justin Vernon bandmate Chris Porterfield’s new band Field Report is streaming over at Billboard. I had a chance to see them live earlier this year, and I knew it was going to be special. After a few listens, I’m pretty sure this album will be very much in the running for my album of the year.

Not to mention, Cat Power’s new album “Sun” came out last week, and boy is it good. IT feels like Cat Power caught some of her demons, threw them into a washing machine and/or synthesizer, hung out with Channy from Polica, and then dropped this one. I highly encourage you to listen.

Hope this helps with Monday coming up way too fast. Love y’all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

