20 Albums of my 20s

This past Saturday, I was at a close friend’s 25th birthday event at a bar – I hesitate to use the word party, as I’m not sure 25 year olds are allowed to have parties. As we were sitting around, having a beer or 5, it dawned on me exactly how close I was to 25 myself, and the true beginning of my mid-20s.

As I thought about this, and reflected on my 20s so far, I was struck by how many of my memories from my 20s were accompanied by a soundtrack created by yours truly. So, I thought it might be fun to celebrate my approaching birthday by making a list of the 20 albums that have been so influential on the last 5 years of my life. So, in no particular order:

  1. Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago
  2. The Avett Brothers – I And Love And You
  3. The Decemberists – The Crane Wife
  4. Tyler Lyle – The Golden Age and the Silver Girl
  5. Anais Mitchell – Hymns for the Exiled
  6. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Stadium Arcadium
  7. Sun Kil Moon – Ghosts of the Great Highway
  8. The Head and the Heart – The Head and the Heart
  9. Doomtree – No Kings
  10. Allison Krauss – Forget About It
  11. Bowerbirds – Hymns for a Dark Horse
  12. First Aid Kit – The Big Black and the Blue
  13. Iron & Wine – Our Endless Numbered Days
  14. Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More
  15. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
  16. The National – High Violet
  17. Dawes – Nothing is Wrong
  18. Local Natives – Gorilla Manor
  19. Dark Was the Night (Red Hot Compilation)
  20. Dessa – Castor the Twin

Each one of these albums reminds me of late-night car rides, porch drinking with friends, and the people I love with all of my heart. On top of that, all of these albums are beautiful, and each has a story to tell. If you haven’t listened to any of these, I highly recommend you take ’em for a test ride, you might even find a new soundtrack for whatever path you’re walking now.

Leave a Reply

